Paid sick leave legislation could pass in New Jersey
New Jersey appears to be on the brink of becoming the 10th state to enact a mandatory paid sick leave law. Legislation under consideration in the General Assembly would allow employees to accrue an hour of paid leave for every 30 hours worked.
Accrual for employees of small organizations—with fewer than 10 employees—would be capped at 40 hours per year. Those working for larger enterprises could bank up to 72 hours of paid leave.
Maryland enacted a similar law earlier this year.