California’s unemployment compensation system, like that of many other states, provides temporary payments to employees who lose their jobs through no fault of their own. The program draws from a public policy that assumes “unemployment is a serious menace to the health, safety, morals and welfare” of the people of California and is designed to “lighten its burden” for workers and their families.
The state administers its unemployment compensation program through the California Employment Development Department (EDD) (www.edd.cahwnet.gov/). Employees make no contributions to the program, which is funded entirely by taxes on employers. The law is complex and in some cases holds an employer liable for unemployment insurance (UI) payments even when a former employee wasn’t fired, but quit.
Maximum weekly benefit: $450
Employees who qualify for UI payments can receive about 50 percent of their average weekly wage earned i...(register to read more)
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- Don't assume casual laborers are contractors—and don't neglect workers' comp insurance
- 'Self-defense' is no excuse for ignoring anti-violence rules
- Judge how much of a pain ergonomics rules may be
- Federal court to decide: Does firing a pregnant employee violate public policy in N.C.?