Most states have boosted their minimum wages above the federal $5.15 per hour. Now, several states are exploring the idea of giving employees another plus—paid sick leave. At a minimum, expect such proposals in Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, Vermont and Wisconsin this year.
The trend is being driven by the overwhelming approval of a recent San Francisco ballot initiative that guarantees workers be given at least one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours of work. (The law sets caps depending on business size.)
Similar paid-leave legislation is also being pushed in Congress, but the slim political margins make national action unlikely on this issue.
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- Subpar employee fired for good reason? He can still sue for FMLA retaliation
- Regardless of age, we're mostly conservative retirement investors
- Can we deduct pay from an exempt worker who takes FMLA leave? If so, how should we calculate it?
- Can I convert part-timers to contractors?