• LinkedIn
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+

Learn the 5 levels of delegation

Get PDF file

by on
in Best-Practices Leadership,Leaders & Managers

Your boss just delegated a task to you. Are you clear on exactly what level of authority you have in handling the task?

Keep these five very different levels of delegation in mind, says Michael Hyatt, chairman and CEO of Thomas Nelson Publishers. If you’re not sure which level of delegation your boss meant, ask him to clarify:

Level 1: Do exactly what I have asked you to do. I’ve already researched the options and determined a course of action.

Level 2: Research the topic and report back to me. We will discuss it, and then I will make the decision about what to do.

Level 3: Research the topic, outline the options and tell me what you think we should do. If I agree with your decision, I will authorize you to move forward.

Level 4: Make a decision and then tell me what you did. I trust you to do the research. Just keep me in the loop; I don’t want to be surprised.

Level 5: Make whatever decision you think is best. No need to report back. I trust you completely. I know you will follow through. You have my full support.

-- Adapted from “The Five Levels of Delegation,” Michael Hyatt, Intentional Leadership.

Leave a Comment