Ineffective payroll management and shoddy payroll systems can result in personal liability (including JAIL TIME) for non-compliance.
Business Management Daily helps our readers with information on payroll processing and tips on timesheets that will help you to implement payroll programs that pay off.
Income tax withholding. Massachusetts has retroactively adopted the federal tax exclusion rules for dependent health benefits. (Ch. 9. L. 2011) According to technical guidance, Massachusetts employers that were noncompliant with state law by following the federal rules regarding dependent health benefits for state tax purposes in 2010 and 2011 aren’t required to take any action [...]
Income tax withholding. Beginning Jan. 1, 2012, payers of pensions, profit-sharing, stock bonus or other deferred compensation must withhold on the taxable portion of the payment. Pass-through entities that have more than $200,000 of business income after allocation or apportionment must withhold on the distributive share of business income of each corporate member. (Act 38, [...]
Income tax withholding. The phrase “Internal Revenue Code” means the federal tax code in effect on April 14, 2011. For 2011 and later years, the state conforms to the provision in the federal health care reform law that allows employees to pay for their adult children’s health benefits on a tax-free basis until the year [...]
Leave. Beginning July 1, 2011, employers with 50 or more employees must allow employees to take an unpaid leave for up to 15 days during a year to perform civil air patrol emergency service duty or counter-narcotics missions. Employees responding to a state or nationally declared emergency may take more time off. Employees can’t lose [...]
Minimum wages. For 2012, the inflation-adjusted minimum wage increases to $7.65 an hour, from $7.35.
Income tax withholding. Beginning July 1, 2011, employers withholding more than $16,000 in the prior year must deposit electronically. Beginning Jan. 1, 2012, the threshold for mandatory electronic deposits will be lowered to employers withholding more than $13,000. The threshold drops to employers withholding more than $11,000 on July 1, 2012; employers withholding more than [...]
Minimum wages. Beginning Dec. 31, 2011, a separate state minimum wage no longer applies. Instead, the state minimum wage is tied to the federal minimum wage. (Ch. 204, L. 2011) Payment of wages. Beginning Aug. 6, 2011, deductions may be made from employees’ wages for any purpose, provided employers and employees mutually agree and employers [...]
Income tax withholding. The state does not conform to the provision in the federal health care reform law that allows employees to continue to pay for their adult children’s health benefits on a tax-free basis until the year those children turn age 27. (Technical Advisory Memorandum, TAM-14)
New-hire reporting. Employers must report whether new hires are eligible for dependent health benefits.
Unclaimed wages. Beginning Oct. 1, 2011, the length of time outstanding paychecks must remain unclaimed before they’re considered abandoned property is reduced to one year, from two years. Employers holding less than $50 in unclaimed paychecks may report the aggregate amount. (Ch. 230, L. 2011) Work authorization. Beginning Oct. 1, 2012, private employers that employ [...]