People Management

With some employees, it isn’t a matter of ability, it’s a matter of attitude. And while you can’t control someone’s horrible personality, you can decide how you’re going to respond. Use these scripts and strategies to confront problem employees and effectively manage employee discipline so you can bring motivating back to the forefront of your workday.

The first rule of people management is not to let one bad apple spoil your whole bunch. Difficult people can put a strain on the productive members of your team.

Make the most of your human capital. Browse our articles on the good, the bad and the ugly of People Management…

Page 19 of 92« First...10181920304050...Last »
Erica was a failed entrepreneur getting a second chance when she realized that her new company was going down just as surely as her own had. Desperate to do something, she latched onto an old-timer, Raymond, who brought together a group of volunteers brainstorming ways to right the ship ...
From Ed Catmull, co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.
Managers who help their employees develop their careers are rewarded with satisfied, productive staff members who benefit the organization. Here are some ways to help people reach their potential:
If you manage employees with families, they’re bound to ask you to accommodate them as they handle family obligations. Here are a few general ways to respond to such requests:
How you issue assignments can deter­mine how well employees understand and carry out your wishes.
Talking to employees about performance problems, attendance issues, or an upcoming layoff can be awkward. Take these steps to make those conversations easier for you—and your employees.
"Great leaders surround themselves with A+ people," says Sander Flaum, chairman and CEO of Euro RSCG Becker. "Jack Welch [former CEO of General Electric] said the biggest mistake he ever made was not moving quickly enough on people who weren’t A+."
Employee conflict can be a healthy stimulus toward innovative solutions and a freer atmosphere in which to constructively disagree. David Roth, CEO of AppFirst, says there are five things he’s learned about it.
By focusing on each person’s performance as it related to a scorecard of desired results, North Carolina firm Bob Barker Co. enabled employees to increase their compensation by working harder and smarter. It also motivated everyone to contribute to the firm’s profitability.
The next time you hear a motivational speaker intone, “People have to want to change,” head for the door. Such nonsense stymies the best managers. In truth, change is typically imposed on people. They don’t like it, and they enter it kicking and screaming.
Page 19 of 92« First...10181920304050...Last »