Leaders & Managers

From the nitty gritty of daily management to addressing your aspirations of leadership, this section for leaders & managers tells you how to make strong leadership decisions, build effective teams, delegate and stay above the everyday management muddle.

Get tips, strategies, tool and advice on: performance reviews, preventing workplace violence, best-practices leadership, team building, leadership skills, people management and management training.

Page 39 of 893« First...102030383940506070...Last »
Reporters who covered Nelson Mandela never doubted his courage, vision or greatness of spirit, but some felt his eulogies elevated him to sainthood, overlooking his practical side.
Audiences respond well to speakers who share inspiring stories. By forging an emotional tie to a famous victory, you’re more apt to deliver a memorable message. Consider how Gary Spitzer, a senior vice president at DuPont, rallied hundreds of employees at a company event.
Peter Diamandis has built his entrepreneurial career around gathering creative people and letting them loose to chase lofty goals. The 51-year-old founded the X Prize Foundation, a nonprofit that runs competitions to identify the most ambitious ideas and technologies to help humanity.
Here’s one way: Don’t use cutesy job titles like “ninja.”

One of your star employees, Hal, is peerless when it comes to handling customers, but he con­­sistently doesn’t comply with internal procedures. For example, he fails to complete paperwork or seek proper approvals when he processes orders over $1,000. What would you do?

Erica was a failed entrepreneur getting a second chance when she realized that her new company was going down just as surely as her own had. Desperate to do something, she latched onto an old-timer, Raymond, who brought together a group of volunteers brainstorming ways to right the ship ...

Jackie Robinson, the infielder who in 1947 broke the color barrier in Major League Baseball, knew that winning is important. “It kills me to lose,” he once said. “If I’m a troublemaker it’s because I can’t stand losing.”

Alan Mulally, 68, is leaving Ford Motor Company after overseeing an amazing turnaround from a $12.6 billion net loss in 2006 to $7.2 billion in earnings in 2013.
Albert Einstein said ”If I had an hour to solve a problem and my life depended on the solution, I would spend the first 55 minutes determining the proper question to ask … for once I know the proper question, I could solve the problem in less than five minutes.”
From Ed Catmull, co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.
Page 39 of 893« First...102030383940506070...Last »