Leaders & Managers

From the nitty gritty of daily management to addressing your aspirations of leadership, this section for leaders & managers tells you how to make strong leadership decisions, build effective teams, delegate and stay above the everyday management muddle.

Get tips, strategies, tool and advice on: performance reviews, preventing workplace violence, best-practices leadership, team building, leadership skills, people management and management training.

Page 110 of 961« First...102030...109110111...120130140...Last »
Here’s one way: Don’t use cutesy job titles like “ninja.”

One of your star employees, Hal, is peerless when it comes to handling customers, but he con­­sistently doesn’t comply with internal procedures. For example, he fails to complete paperwork or seek proper approvals when he processes orders over $1,000. What would you do?

Erica was a failed entrepreneur getting a second chance when she realized that her new company was going down just as surely as her own had. Desperate to do something, she latched onto an old-timer, Raymond, who brought together a group of volunteers brainstorming ways to right the ship ...

Jackie Robinson, the infielder who in 1947 broke the color barrier in Major League Baseball, knew that winning is important. “It kills me to lose,” he once said. “If I’m a troublemaker it’s because I can’t stand losing.”

Alan Mulally, 68, is leaving Ford Motor Company after overseeing an amazing turnaround from a $12.6 billion net loss in 2006 to $7.2 billion in earnings in 2013.
Albert Einstein said ”If I had an hour to solve a problem and my life depended on the solution, I would spend the first 55 minutes determining the proper question to ask … for once I know the proper question, I could solve the problem in less than five minutes.”
From Ed Catmull, co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.
Managers who help their employees develop their careers are rewarded with satisfied, productive staff members who benefit the organization. Here are some ways to help people reach their potential:
Manage your staff more effectively with these tips.
Everyone agrees that leadership is vital. But what is it, and why does it sometimes fail?
Page 110 of 961« First...102030...109110111...120130140...Last »