Human Resources

From employment law to compensation and benefits, FMLA and hiring and firing and more, Business Management Daily provides comprehensive Human Resources updates.

Discover how your colleagues – and competitors – are dealing with discrimination and harassment, employment law, benefits programs, and more.

While all Michigan employers with 50 or more employees within a 75-mile radius are subject to the federal FMLA, they must also grant time off as a reasonable accommodation under the state’s Persons With Disabilities Civil Rights Act (PWDCRA) ...

Anyone who has lived through a rough hurricane season in Texas understands the disruption that an emergency evacuation creates. Such evacuations and subsequent returns cause real hardships for employers. But employees who evacuate their homes and jobs are protected from discriminatory employment actions due to the Texas law on Employment Discrimination for Participating in Emergency Evacuation ...

The Pennsylvania Wage Payment and Collection Act requires employers to pay wages on regular paydays or face fines or imprisonment ...

California local governments can, and sometimes do, legislate their own rules for employers within their jurisdictions. For example, San Francisco County requires employers to provide paid sick leave. After 90 days on the job, all employees in the city and the county begin accruing paid sick leave at the rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked ...

Florida’s Workforce Investment Act was designed as part of the welfare reform movement of the ’90s. Like its federal counterpart, the Florida WIA provides incentives and assistance to employers who hire those who've been long-term welfare recipients ...

As of Oct. 1, 2006, the minimum wage in New Jersey is $7.15 per hour ($1.30 per hour higher than the new federal minimum wage effective July 24, 2007). For full-time college students, employers may pay as little as 85 percent of the minimum wage ...

The Illinois workers’ compensation system protects employees who are injured on the job by replacing lost wages while they recover. The Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission (www.iwcc.il.gov/) administers the law. The system works as a no-fault guarantee ...

Under Georgia’s child labor law, minors ages 14 to 17 must obtain employment certificates from their school or county school superintendent in order to work. (The law prohibits employers from hiring children under age 14.) ...

The New York Child Labor Law prohibits employers from hiring minors under age 16 for factory jobs and other specifically excluded occupations. Generally, those ages 14 to 16 can work outside school hours and during summer vacation. Certain industry-specific restrictions apply ...

Under Michigan’s Elliott-Larsen Civil Rights Act (ELCRA), it’s illegal to subject people to differential treatment based on religion, race, color, national origin, age, sex, height, weight, familial status or marital status ...