Human Resources

From employment law to compensation and benefits, FMLA and hiring and firing and more, Business Management Daily provides comprehensive Human Resources updates.

Discover how your colleagues – and competitors – are dealing with discrimination and harassment, employment law, benefits programs, and more.

When an employee calls in sick with an apparently serious ailment, you can place that employee on FMLA leave, even if he or she never asks. f you reasonably believe she has a serious health condition, you can start the 12-week FMLA-leave clock ticking ...

Texas public employers have broad rights to prohibit certain kinds of speech in the workplace, but those rights aren't unfettered ...

When it comes to proving discrimination, the first hurdle employees have to jump through is showing that it’s more likely than not that your organization discriminated based on the person’s protected characteristic. But that’s nearly impossible to prove if the replacement employee shares those same characteristics with the fired employee ...

It may seem patently obvious, but judging from the number of lawsuits alleging retaliation these days, many employers still don’t understand the importance of equal treatment following a complaint ...

Want to scare your organization's supervisors into complying with your employment policies? Point out that, under New Jersey law, they can be sued personally for their discriminatory actions. That means one on-the-job misstep can cost managers their homes, savings accounts and other personal assets to satisfy a court judgment ...

Not all New Jersey employers have to worry about complying with state anti-discrimination laws. Specifically, federal employers in the state aren’t subject to the New Jersey Law Against Discrimination. Reason? The federal anti-bias laws (Title VII and the Rehabilitation Act) are the sole remedies for federal employees ...

When it comes time to downsize or reorganize, one of the most common risks you’ll face is age-discrimination claims. That’s why it’s best to have departing employees sign severance agreements in which they waive their rights to pursue age-related claims ...

If you use a written commission compensation plan as part of your incentive-pay program, make sure you do two things. Otherwise, a court could second-guess your commission calculations ...

By now, you’ve adjusted your labor budget to accommodate New Jersey’s new minimum wage of $7.15 per hour, which took effect Oct. 1. Rest assured, you’re not alone ...

After 23 years, New York-based Davis Vision has lost its contract to provide vision benefits to state employees ...