• LinkedIn
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+

Human Resources

From employment law to compensation and benefits, FMLA and hiring and firing and more, Business Management Daily provides comprehensive Human Resources updates.

Discover how your colleagues – and competitors – are dealing with discrimination and harassment, employment law, benefits programs, and more.

Under California’s Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA), it’s unlawful to subject people to differential treatment based on race, religious creed, color, national origin, ancestry, physical or mental disability, medical condition, marital status, sex, age or sexual orientation ...

Local governments in Michigan can, and sometimes do, legislate their own rules for employers within their jurisdictions. For example, several municipalities have living-wage laws stipulating higher pay than the state minimum wage, as well as bans on sexual orientation discrimination ...

Under the Texas Child Labor Act, it’s illegal for employers to hire children under 14 years of age except in certain situations ...

New Jersey’s unemployment compensation law, like that of many other states, provides temporary payments to employees who lose their jobs through no fault of their own. The law is complex and in some cases holds employers liable for unemployment insurance (UI) payments even when former employees weren’t fired but quit their jobs ...

Employers must notify the Ohio New Hire Reporting Center (ONHRC) in the Department of Job & Family Services within 20 days of hiring or rehiring an employee. Be aware that you must also report independent contractors as new hires ...

Georgia’s state code prohibits discrimination against workers ages 40 to 70 based on their age. Employers, supervisors or managers who violate the age-discrimination code are subject to misdemeanor criminal prosecution by the Secretary of State ...

New York employers must contend with an assortment of leave laws in addition to those required by the federal FMLA and the ADA’s reasonable accommodations requirements for employees with disabilities ...

With the exception of minors age 14 or older participating in federally funded work-experience programs run by the State Board of Education, the Illinois Child Labor Law prohibits employers from hiring minors under age 16 to work in theatres, concert halls or places of amusement; mercantile institutions, stores, offices, hotels and laundries; manufacturing establishments, mills, canneries, factories and workshops; restaurants and lunchrooms ...

In Pennsylvania, employers must allow employees (or their designated agents) to inspect their personnel files upon reasonable request. The law applies only to actual employees, not to ex-employees or applicants who want to look at their application files ...

As of Jan. 1, 2007, California employers must pay a state minimum wage of $7.50 per hour, which increases to $8 per hour on Jan. 1, 2008. The minimum wage applies to all workers except ...