Overtime Labor Laws
Federal overtime laws, designed to help end the exempt vs. non-exempt debate, have made things worse. To non-exempt and exempt employees, labor laws continue to confuse.
Business Management Daily can help you comply with federal overtime laws. Learn when you have to pay overtime, and when you don’t.
A handful of high-profile legal disputes are shining a bright light on an often-ignored issue: Should employers be required to pay interns at least the minimum wage?
Here’s a bit of advice to any employer using commercial drivers in their enterprise: Before concluding those employees are exempt from overtime under the Fair Labor Standards Act because they’re covered by the Motor Carrier Act, call your attorney.
Last year, the U.S. Supreme Court dismissed a class-action sex discrimination claim brought by thousands of female Walmart employees. Now the 7th Circuit Court of Appeals has clarified how far the decision goes in class-action wage-and-hour cases.
Q. We have an exempt supervisor who has accumulated more than 400 hours of comp time over the past year. It’s almost impossible for her to take 400 hours of comp time and still do her job. What is our obligation to pay for this comp time? How can this issue best be resolved?
Q. We are hiring for a new position that does not meet any exemption under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). However, we think there will be more interest in the job if we pay a salary. Can we still compensate on a salary basis even if the position is nonexempt?
If your company is like most and cutting costs is a top priority, reducing overtime expenditures can make a big difference. Be careful with how your company goes about reining in overtime, though; failing to properly pay for all overtime hours worked could result in more financial harm than good. In addition to paying employees back wages, you will also pay liquidated, or double, damages. And liquidated damages are the rule, rather than the exception. Paying employees correctly the first time is your best strategy. Employees have two years to sue for non-willful mistakes, and three years for willful mistakes. Read on to learn from others' mistakes.
Under proposed regulations, staffing agencies that send health care workers into clients’ homes would be fully covered under the Fair Labor Standards Act. In-home health care workers who are employed by families would retain their FLSA exemption.
You don’t have to pay hourly employees for meal breaks of 30 minutes or more, as long as they are completely relieved of their duties during the break. Many employers automatically deduct the meal period from time worked. But make sure there’s an easy way for employees who occasionally work through their meal breaks to report the additional paid time.
Q. What’s the definition of a standard workweek? One of our employees claims that overtime is defined as anything over eight hours per workday. Is he correct?
The California Supreme Court has issued a long-awaited decision in a case addressing the “administrative/production worker” dichotomy in determining if an employee meets the requirements for the administrative employee exemption from overtime under the California Wage Orders.