Employment Law

Need employment law advice? Your employee’s hungry attorney knows the latest on employment at will, reasonable accommodations, and more.

Minimize employer liability, optimize labor relations, bullet-proof your employee handbook and update your knowledge of ADA guidelines with our employment law advice.

Page 486 of 549« First...102030...485486487...490500510...Last »

The New Jersey Wage Payment Law seems like it should be rather simple, but it’s perhaps the most complicated employment law in the state. Full of traps for the unwary, the law can spell big trouble for even innocent mistakes, with fines of up to $1,000 per violation ...

California’s unemployment compensation system, like that of many other states, provides temporary payments to employees who lose their jobs through no fault of their own. The law is complex and in some cases holds an employer liable for unemployment insurance (UI) payments even when a former employee wasn’t fired, but quit ...

As of Jan. 1, 2007, the minimum wage in Ohio is $6.85 per hour. Employers with gross sales of less than $250,000 may continue to pay the federal minimum wage ($5.85 per hour effective July 24, 2007) ...

The Texas Payday Act seems like it should be simple, but it’s perhaps the most complicated employment law in the state. Full of traps for the unwary, the law can spell big trouble for even innocent mistakes. Plus, it carries a fine of up to $1,000 per violation ...

Florida recently amended its Clean Indoor Air Act to comply with the Florida Health Initiative. The law prohibits smoking in all enclosed indoor workplaces except: private residences or private clubs, retail tobacco shops, smoking-designated guest rooms in hotels and motels, stand-alone bars and designated smoking rooms in airports ... 

Under Pennsylvania law, employers can refuse to hire a job applicant based on the person’s criminal history only if the criminal record directly relates to the “applicant’s suitability” for the job ...

Enforced by the Division of Wage and Hour Compliance, the New Jersey Child Labor Law prohibits employers from hiring minors under age 16 for factory jobs and other specifically excluded occupations ...

California’s workers’ compensation system protects employees who are injured on the job by replacing lost wages while they recover. The Division of Workers’ Compensation in the California Department of Industrial Relations (www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/dwc_home_page.htm) administers the law ...

Employers must notify the Ohio New Hire Reporting Center (ONHRC) in the Department of Job & Family Services within 20 days of hiring or rehiring an employee. Be aware that you must also report independent contractors as new hires ...

Michigan’s workers’ compensation system protects employees who are injured on the job by replacing lost wages while they recover. The Workers’ Compensation Agency (www.michigan.gov/wca) administers the law ...

Page 486 of 549« First...102030...485486487...490500510...Last »