Employment Law

Need employment law advice? Your employee’s hungry attorney knows the latest on employment at will, reasonable accommodations, and more.

Minimize employer liability, optimize labor relations, bullet-proof your employee handbook and update your knowledge of ADA guidelines with our employment law advice.

Page 472 of 540« First...102030...471472473...480490500...Last »

HR Law 101: If you fail to do background checks on applicants for certain positions, you could make yourself vulnerable to a negligent-hiring lawsuit by any worker or customer who’s been hurt by a violent employee. You should check applicants’ backgrounds especially for positions such as day care worker, security guard and sales representative ...

White Paper published by The HR Specialist ______________________ When it comes to making job offers, your hiring managers could be inadvertently locking your organization into an employment contract with the new hire. It’s a common mistake, and only a few misplaced words can sink you. Employers who use written job-offer letters run the highest risk […]

Since September 2001, when the Texas Minimum Wage Act was last amended, employers have been required to pay a minimum wage equal to the amount set by the federal government under the Fair Labor Standards Act ...

New York’s workers’ compensation system is designed to protect employees who are injured on the job by replacing lost wages while they recover. The New York State Workers’ Compensation Board (www.wcb.state.ny.us/) administers the law ...

As of Jan. 1, 2007, California employers must pay a state minimum wage of $7.50 per hour, which increases to $8 per hour on Jan. 1, 2008. The minimum wage applies to all workers except ...

Several local governments in Ohio legislate their own rules for employers within their jurisdictions. For example, several municipalities have living-wage laws stipulating higher pay than the state minimum wage ($6.85 per hour) or ordinances banning discrimination against gay, lesbian and transgender employees ...

In March 2006, the Michigan legislature passed a new minimum wage law, but then amended it in August to address concerns that the new rate would entitle large segments of Michigan’s work force to overtime pay ...

Under the Texas Child Labor Act, it’s illegal for employers to hire children under 14 years of age except in certain situations ...

Georgia’s unemployment compensation law, like that of many other states, provides temporary payments to employees who lose their jobs through no fault of their own. The Georgia Employment Security Law is complex and in some cases holds employers liable for unemployment insurance (UI) payments even when former employees weren’t fired but quit their jobs ...

Georgia’s code on equal employment for people with disabilities generally follows the federal ADA. The code guarantees to disabled individuals the right to full participation in the social and economic life of the state and lawful employment without discrimination because of a handicap ...