Employment Law

Need employment law advice? Your employee’s hungry attorney knows the latest on employment at will, reasonable accommodations, and more.

Minimize employer liability, optimize labor relations, bullet-proof your employee handbook and update your knowledge of ADA guidelines with our employment law advice.

With the exception of minors age 14 or older participating in federally funded work-experience programs run by the State Board of Education, the Illinois Child Labor Law prohibits employers from hiring minors under age 16 to work in theatres, concert halls or places of amusement; mercantile institutions, stores, offices, hotels and laundries; manufacturing establishments, mills, canneries, factories and workshops; restaurants and lunchrooms ...

Georgia’s minimum wage of $5.15 per hour currently matches the federal minimum wage (which Congress voted to increase to $5.85 per hour effective July 24, 2007). However, the Georgia Minimum Wage Law differs in some key aspects from the federal minimum under the Fair Labor Standards Act ...

The child labor rules in California differ from those of other states, largely because of the motion picture industry. State laws governing child labor start at birth and regulate everything from the length of the workday to the amount of light a child can be exposed to ...

Michigan’s child labor law prohibits employers from hiring minors under age 16 in “an occupation that is hazardous or injurious to the minor’s health or personal well-being.” You may hire minors 14 years old provided you obtain permission from their school ...

Texas employers who abide by the employment discrimination provisions of the federal Civil Rights Act (Title VII) are likely to be safe under the state law, too. That’s because the Texas Labor Code provisions on discrimination are identical to the requirements under Title VII ...

The Pennsylvania Equal Pay Law parallels the federal Equal Pay Act in many respects. Under the law, employers can’t discriminate in pay rates because of an employee’s gender. Every Pennsylvania employer, regardless of size, must comply with the law ...

New Jersey local governments can (and sometimes do) legislate their own rules for employers within their jurisdictions. For example, several municipalities have living-wage laws stipulating higher pay than the state minimum wage ($7.15 per hour) ...

The Ohio Wage Payment Law seems like it should be rather simple, but it’s perhaps the most complicated employment law in the state. Full of traps for the unwary, the law can spell big trouble for even innocent mistakes ...

The Florida Minimum Wage Act follows the federal Fair Labor Standards Act in all respects except the minimum wage. Specifically, workers who are exempt under the FLSA are also exempt under the state law ...

The New York Wage Payment Law sounds rather simple, but it’s perhaps the most complicated employment law in the state. Full of traps for the unwary, the law can spell big trouble for even innocent mistakes, with fines of up to $20,000 per violation ...