Compensation and Benefits

Compensation and benefits topics – whether it’s minimum wage, workers’ compensation laws, or employee pay – if properly handled, can help you retain workers and recruit new ones.

Use our advice to craft independent contractor agreements that keep independent contractors – and your bosses – happy.

Page 129 of 159« First...102030128129130140150...Last »
Start with a template to save drafting time.

The New Jersey Supreme Court has ruled that the Conscientious Employee Protection Act (CEPA) protects many independent contractors. The court said the law covers “any individual who performs services for and under the direction of an employer for wages or other remuneration” ...

New Jersey employers that use independent contractors should make sure all their documentation is in order. New Jersey is part of a pilot project initiated by the IRS to identify employers that provide 1099 forms for contract workers who should be paid as employees ...

Local governments in Indiana sometimes legislate their own rules for employers within their jurisdictions. For example, some municipalities have living-wage laws stipulating higher pay than the state minimum wage ($5.85 per hour), while others ban discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity ...

North Carolina’s minimum wage is $6.15 per hour, compared to the current federal minimum wage of $5.85 per hour. However, barring action by the state legislature, the federal minimum wage will overtake North Carolina’s minimum wage next year ...

The North Carolina Wage Payment and Collection Act seems like it should be rather simple, but it’s perhaps the most complicated employment law in the state. Full of traps for the unwary, the law can spell big trouble for even innocent mistakes. The law covers all North Carolina private employers, even those with only one employee, and requires employers to pay their employees monthly ...

Local governments in North Carolina sometimes legislate their own rules for employers within their jurisdictions. For example, Durham County and the city of Durham have living-wage laws stipulating higher pay than the state minimum wage ($6.15 per hour) while Orange County has its own human rights ordinance ...

The Indiana workers’ compensation system is designed to protect employees who are injured on the job by replacing lost wages while they recover. The Indiana Workers’ Compensation Board (www.in.gov/workcomp) administers the law. The system works as a no-fault guarantee ...

In conjunction with the recent increase in the federal minimum wage, Indiana hiked its minimum wage from $5.15 to $5.85 per hour (effective July 24, 2007). Over the next two years, the state minimum wage will increase (along with the federal minimum wage) by 70 cents per hour in two phases ...

Employers must pay their employees on payday—and make sure the money is in the bank. Otherwise, they risk liability for double the amount due as liquidated damages under the Fair Labor Standards Act ...

Page 129 of 159« First...102030128129130140150...Last »