The HR Specialist: Illinois Employment Law

Effective July 1, 2007, employers must pay workers the Illinois minimum wage of $7.50 per hour. The minimum wage applies to all workers except …

{ 0 comments }

The Illinois Wage Payment and Collection Act seems like it should be rather simple, but it’s perhaps the most complicated employment law in the state. Full of traps for the unwary, the law can spell big trouble for even innocent mistakes. The law covers all Illinois private employers, even those with only one employee …

{ 0 comments }

With the exception of minors age 14 or older participating in federally funded work-experience programs run by the State Board of Education, the Illinois Child Labor Law prohibits employers from hiring minors under age 16 to work in theatres, concert halls or places of amusement; mercantile institutions, stores, offices, hotels and laundries; manufacturing establishments, mills, canneries, factories and workshops; restaurants and lunchrooms …

{ 0 comments }

Local governments in Illinois sometimes legislate their own rules for employers within their jurisdictions. For example, some municipalities have living-wage laws stipulating higher pay than the state’s minimum wage ($7.50 per hour as of July 1, 2007) …

{ 0 comments }

In response to the rising number of day and temporary laborers, Illinois recently passed the Day and Temporary Labor Services Act. The law not only licenses day and temporary labor services agencies but also imposes obligations on employers that use such workers …

{ 0 comments }

Page 64 of 64« First...102030626364