Q. One of our employees was injured at work and is now receiving workers’
A. Section 440.13(2)(b)(1) of Florida’s Workers’ Compensation Act states: “If the family member is not employed or if the family member is employed and is providing attendant care services during hours that he or she is not engaged in employment, the per-hour value equals the federal minimum hourly wage.”
Thus, if you are paying attendant care pursuant to this statute, you currently should be paying the federal rate of $6.55 per hour. (Florida’s minimum wage went up to $7.21 on Jan. 1.)
Note, however, that the federal minimum wage will increase to $7.25 per hour on July 24, and you should make any adjustments to the attendant care rate accordingly.
Like what you've read? ...Republish it and share great business tips!
Attention: Readers, Publishers, Editors, Bloggers, Media, Webmasters and more...
We believe great content should be read and passed around. After all, knowledge IS power. And good business can become great with the right information at their fingertips. If you'd like to share any of the insightful articles on BusinessManagementDaily.com, you may republish or syndicate it without charge.
The only thing we ask is that you keep the article exactly as it was written and formatted. You also need to include an attribution statement and link to the article.
" This information is proudly provided by Business Management Daily.com: http://www.businessmanagementdaily.com/8817/whats-the-hourly-rate-for-family-member-caring-for-employee-out-on-workers-comp "