By now, you have started withholding 0.09% of your employees’ pay, up to a total of $26.01 for the year, for New Jersey’s new PaidInsurance program.
The program is 100% funded by employee contributions through payroll deductions. Beginning July 1, the New Jersey Temporary Disability Benefits law will provide up to six weeks of family leave insurance benefits to covered individuals. Employees will be paid two-thirds of their wages up to a maximum of $524 per week.
Family leave insurance benefits can be claimed to:
- Bond with a child during the first 12 months after birth if the covered individual or the domestic partner or civil-union partner of the covered individual is a biological parent of the child, or the first 12 months after the placement of the child for adoption with the covered individual.
- Care for a family member with a serious health condition supported by a certification provided by a health care provider. Claims may be filed for six consecutive weeks, for intermittent weeks or for 42 intermittent days during a 12-month period beginning with the first date of the claim.
You can get more information about the law and what employers must do to comply, plus copies of the poster you are required to display, from the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development at http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/fli/fliindex.html.
Final note: It’s almost certain that more employees will begin taking time off now that they can be paid to do so. Plan now for those absences.
- Changes for small business plans?
- Remind bosses: The wrong choice of words can bolster an employee's retaliation lawsuit
- Employees can't hide behind FMLA to dodge legitimate discipline
- We hear a worker is sick: What can we say?
- You're not a doctor! Don't restrict pregnant employee's work unless her physician says so