On Jan.1, the hourly minimum wage increased in 11 states: Arizona, $7.25; Colorado, $7.28; Connecticut, $8.00; Florida, $7.21; Missouri, $7.05; Montana, $6.90; New Mexico, $7.50; Ohio, $7.30; Oregon, $8.40; Vermont, $8.06; Washington, $8.55.
The federal minimum, currently $6.55 per hour, is scheduled to increase on July 24 to $7.25.
Note: When states set a higher minimum wage than the federal, employees are always entitled to the higher rate.
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- What employers must do now to meet Affordable Care Act deadlines
- Do we have to compensate employees who answer pagers off-the-clock?
- How many lawyers do we need? Lawsuit names company and individual managers
- EEOC issues employer best practices on work/family balance