THE LAW. The federal Fair Labor Standards Act () requires virtually all employers to pay at least a minimum wage, now $5.15 an hour, to all . Many states also set their own, often higher, minimum wages, and some of these rates vary by type of worker.
When federal and state laws differ, the higher minimum wage typically applies.
In some cases, federal law lets you pay a below-minimum wage to certain categories of workers, including the disabled, full-time students, tipped employees, youths under age 20 (for their first 90 days on the job), apprentices and messengers. But if you want to pay someone a subminimum wage, be ready to jump through hoops to get permission from the federal government.
WHAT'S NEW? Look for Con-gress this fall to debate raising the federal minimum from $5.15 to $6.65 an hour. Passage is more likely in the Senate than the House. The proposed hike would be phased in: 60...(register to read more)
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- Small Business Tax Deduction Strategies
- Lawsuit: Minnesota strippers shouldn't 'pay for the pole'
- California: What wage-and-hour issues come into play when an employee telecommutes?
- If an employee wants to earn less, not more, what could possibly be the legal risk?
- Zero percent tax rate? It's the truth