California's recent passage of a paidbill for workers may be the first in the nation, but don't expect it to be the last. Reason: The new law, which becomes effective July 1, 2004, is putting pressure on more than two dozen other states that are actively considering similar legislation.
Relatively few employees actually take leave under the federalAct ( ), in part because it only promises unpaid, job-protected leave. Employers report that just 7 percent of their workers have taken , up from 3.6 percent in 1995, according to a Labor Department study. But California's action will likely spur the popularity of FMLA and raise the issue's prominence as a workplace entitlement.
The new California law will let employees take up to six weeks paid leave for the birth of a child or to care for sick family members. Small businesses (under 50 employees) won't be required to hold a job open for a worker on family leave.
The money to pay for the program will be raised through employee, and run by the state's temporary disability program. Experts predict employees will lose about $27 per year from deductions. Employers may require workers to take up to two weeks of paid vacation before paid family leave would begin, and the law caps the benefit at $728 a week.
The National Federation of Independent Business estimates it will cost $5,000 per paid leave per worker, including pay for temporary workers, training and payroll-system changes.
For more details on the law, visit www.calchamber.com.
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- Small Business Tax Deduction Strategies
- Here's a no-brainer: No charts predicting when female workers will get pregnant
- Employee quitting for medical reasons? Consider offering accommodation
- DOL grills tortilla maker, gets agreement on back pay
- FMLA? What's FMLA? ... Do Your Leaders Know their Employment-Law Basics?