For California employers, even minor wage-and-hour violations can wind up costing employers millions of dollars. Blame it on California’s infamous “multiplier effect,” which can come into play in any wage-and-hour case, but which really adds up in class-action suits.
Simply put, the multiplier effect is a small wage-payment violation—involving failure to pay for overtime or off-the-clock work, for example—that triggers a range of California Labor Code penalties that far exceed the value of the original unpaid wage amount.
Just a little unpaid overtime?
Here’s an example of how the multiplier effect works. Let’s say an assistant manager at a retail store has been misclassified as exempt from state overtime pay requirements. The manager is employed for about a year, working approximately two overtime hours each week. For unrelated reasons, the employee then quits her job without notice.
Several months later, the e...(register to read more)
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- State High Court nixes sky-high attorneys' fees, says $450K for a $100K judgment is too much
- Title VII doesn't protect employees who complain about discrimination against customers
- Your workplace: Is it ready for an emergency?
- States become key battleground in the minimum wage fight