Many employers are familiar with the basic requirements of federal wage-and-hour law—the minimum wage, how to calculate overtime and who must receive it. But the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act is often a mystery to employers and employees alike.
Here are the top 10 things you should know about the act.
1. Where to find the act. The act is codified in the General Statutes, beginning with section 95-25.1 and continuing through section 95-25.25. The act and the North Carolina Department of Labor’s interpretive regulations are both available online at www.nclabor.com/wh/Wage_Hour_Act_Packet.pdf.
2. What is the minimum wage? North Carolina’s minimum wage isn’t simply a regurgitation of the federal minimum. Instead, the act requires paying whichever is higher: $6.15 per hour or the federal minimum wage of $5.85 per hour. So, North Carolina employees must receive at least $6.15 per hour. But the federal minimum increa...(register to read more)
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- Small Business Tax Deduction Strategies
- Caregiver leave: Was this firing disability discrimination?
- Capture knowledge from key people before they exit
- You won't work Sundays?! EEOC guide explains religious accommodations
- Don't pile on reasons for firing; you're spoiling for retaliation fight in court