Minnesota employers must comply with the state’s extensive child labor regulations, enforced by the Department of Labor & Industry (www.doli.state.mn.us).
Minors under age 14 may work only as:
- Newspaper carriers (must be at least 11 years old)
- Agriculture workers (must be at least 12 years old and have parental consent)
- Actors or models
- Youth athletic program referees (must be at least 11 years old and have parental consent).
Minors under age 16 may not work before 7 am or after 9 pm when school is not in session, with the exception of newspaper carriers. They may not work more than 40 hours per week or more than eight hours during any 24-hour period, except those working in agriculture.
During the school year, federal law restricts their hours to no later than 7 pm, no more than three hours per day and only 18 hours per week. Under no circumstances may minors under age 16 work during scho...(register to read more)
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- Phrase job offers carefully to avoid confusion, disputes
- Follow the discipline rules in your handbook to defeat discrimination claims
- Firing Guard or Reserve member? Better show you would have taken action despite service
- No self-defamation claim possible in North Carolina