Besides the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, Colorado employers must also comply with the state’s child www.coworkforce.com/lab)., administered by the Colorado Division of Labor (
State law prohibits minors under 16 years of age to work during school hours or more than six hours on any day prior to a school day. Only baby sitters may work between 9:30 pm and 5 am.
Generally, minors may not work more than 40 hours per week and no more than eight hours in any 24-hour period. (Agricultural workers age 14 and older may work up to 12 hours in a 24-hour period or 30 hours in any 72-hour period during harvest time. But they may not work more than eight hours for 10 days in any 30-day period.)
Minors age 9 and older may perform the following types of work:
- Delivery of handbills, advertising and advertising samples
- Gardening and lawn care involving no power-driven lawn equipment
- Clea...(register to read more)
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- Beware retaliation lawsuit if you act against employee who challenges ADA compliance
- Building case for firing employee is OK—If it's legitimate
- Your rules can protect against retaliation—make sure managers follow them
- 'Voluntary' training time: To pay or not?