Q. Our staff includes employees who do repair work and are paid by the job. We offer a 90-day guarantee to our customers. If a customer has to have a repair redone, can we deduct from the employee’s subsequent wages the money we paid for the faulty first repair?
A. Colorado wage law imposes strict limits on deductions from wages. You should get an agreement with your employees that the wages are not “fully earned” until the 90-day period expires without a return, and an agreement that deductions for charge-backs within the 90 days are permitted. However, be aware that deductions cannot bring an employee below minimum wage.
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- Small Business Tax Deduction Strategies
- Worker fired for lack of wheels is eligible for unemployment
- Alaska Air pays 9% bonus to everyone on payroll
- California Supreme Court limits liability for independent contractor's injuries
- ACA individual mandate could cost employers more