California’s paid sick leave amendment requires 3 days’ leave per year — Business Management Daily: Free Reports on Human Resources, Employment Law, Office Management, Office Communication, Office Technology and Small Business Tax Business Management Daily

California’s paid sick leave amendment requires 3 days’ leave per year

Get PDF file

by on
in Compensation and Benefits,Human Resources

by Christopher W. Olmsted and Robert R. Roginson, Esqs., Ogletree Deakins

An amendment to California’s Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 that took effect July 1 requires employers to offer employees three days or 24 hours of paid sick leave per year.

The original law required employers to provide at least one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked, or to provide an up-front allocation of at least 24 hours.

The accrual requirement created a big headache, since most employers do not accrue paid time off on a per-hour basis. Rather, they typically accrue leave on a per day or per month basis.

Fixing the flaw

The amended law lets an employer use a different accrual method, provided that the accrual occurs on a regular basis so employees have no less than 24 hours of accrued sick leave or paid time off by the 120th calendar day of employment, each calendar year, or each 12-month period.

Employers won’t h...(register to read more)

To read the rest of this article you must first register with your email address.

Email Address:

Leave a Comment

 

Previous post:

Next post: