How to implement California’s new Paid Sick Leave Law — Business Management Daily: Free Reports on Human Resources, Employment Law, Office Management, Office Communication, Office Technology and Small Business Tax Business Management Daily

How to implement California’s new Paid Sick Leave Law

Get PDF file

by on
in Employment Law,Human Resources

by Christopher W. Olmsted, Charles L. Thompson and Hera S. Arsen, Ogletree Deakins

Last month, we provided background information on Cali­­for­­nia’s new Paid Sick Leave Law. This month, we follow up with critical information on how you need to implement the law.

How employees accrue leave

Employees will accrue one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked. This comes to a little more than eight days a year for someone who works full time.

Some employers have been asking whether employees can accrue paid sick leave on a fractional basis. For example, if an employee works 15 hours, should employers credit him or her with half an hour of paid sick leave?

Probably not. The statute only requires that an employee accrue once he or she works 30 hours.

The statute permits but does not require employers to cap use of sick pay at 24 hours or three days per year.

The statute also permits but does not require employers to cap a...(register to read more)

To read the rest of this article you must first register with your email address.

Email Address:

Leave a Comment

 

Previous post:

Next post: