by Kimberly Deas
Google Plus has a very powerful underused feature: circles. A circle is a list of people whose conversations you monitor.
Circles let you monitor what your contacts share on Google Plus and allow you to post specific messages to just that group.
For example, if you’re in sales, you could create a circle of your top prospects and monitor what they say on Google Plus, and they’d all be in one feed. This makes monitoring their activity easier.
When posting your comments you can choose which circles see what you share.
There are four main types of circles for sharing:
1. Public: This means everyone can see what you post. You will use this most of the time, except when you have a specific message for a specific circle or person.
2. Your circles: This will notify your entire follower base. This should be used sparingly as one message will likely not be relevant to your entire set of circles.
3. Specific circle: This allows you to share a specific message to specific circles. For example, if you just closed a large deal, you might share this with the Colleague circle, but not the competitor circle.
4. Specific person: This allows you to share a message with a specific person.
Since every Google Plus user has an email address, Google Plus also lets you send emails to people in your circles for up to 100 people at a time.
Kimberly Deas combines her 10+ years’ experience in telecommunications with a background in personal coaching and results-oriented training.