Q. Heading into 2008, are there any changes to Ohio law that employers need to be aware of?
A. In November 2006, voters approved a constitutional amendment raising Ohio’s minimum wage to $7 per hour, effective Jan. 1, 2008. The minimum wage for tipped employees increases to $3.50 per hour.
Employers should monitor the Ohio Civil Rights Commission’s proposed changes to theregulations, which would require Ohio employers to provide a minimum of 12 weeks of based upon medical necessity and provide light duty to pregnant employees if they provide it to other employees. Recently, the commission voted 4-1 to approve the new regulations, which will not go into effect until after a legislative rules committee approves the proposal.
Ohio employers also should keep their eyes on a drive by the Coalition for Healthy Families, led by the Service Employees International Union, which is attempting to pressure the Legislature to enact a law that would require Ohio employers to provide seven days of paid sick leave to their employees. Absent legislative enactment, the coalition will attempt to put the issue on the November ballot.
- Checklist: 9 Steps to Sniffing Out Suspicious FMLA Requests
- No medical certificate? You can still run FMLA leave with PTO
- COBRA: Foolproof administration is key to compliance
- Don't assume casual laborers are contractors—and don't neglect workers' comp insurance
- Court rules on early FMLA protection: Never fire for requesting leave in advance