The California Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE) recently conducted two days of sweeps at approximately 100 car washes in six Southern California counties, uncovering an array of employment law violations.
On Sept. 13, the Labor Commissioner’s Office announced that the DLSE issued more than 150 citations—carrying over $1.6 million in fines—for violating state labor laws and failing to register with the state.
Investigators found that many employees were required to work more than eight hours per day without receiving overtime pay or rest and meal breaks. The agency also issued citations for violating child labor laws, failing to provide itemized deduction statements and not providing workers’ compensation insurance.
A regulation that took effect in 2005 required all car wash owners to register with the state by July 20, 2006. The registration process requires owners to post a $15,000 bond, purchase workers’ compensation insurance and pay a $250 fee for each location they own.
In a statement, Labor Commissioner Angela Bradstreet said, “We will conduct detailed payroll audits and will seek additional back wages and penalties on top of the $1 million plus in citations.”
- Promises, promises: Put incentives in writing; don't let managers blurt them out
- From singles to prayer groups: Legal risks of affinity clubs
- Offer legit 'fresh-start' transfer without fear of being punished for retaliation
- You can put your seniority system ahead of ADA accommodation
- Know whether you must post an injury/illness summary