Higher FUTA taxes for employers — Business Management Daily: Free Reports on Human Resources, Employment Law, Office Management, Office Communication, Office Technology and Small Business Tax Business Management Daily

Higher FUTA taxes for employers

Get PDF file

by on
in Small Business Tax

The U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) has announced the final list of states where em­­ployers will owe extra federal unemployment tax (FUTA) for 2013. These states don’t qualify for the usual 5.4% credit against the 6% FUTA tax rate due to outstanding federal unemployment fund loans. The DOL listed the following cutbacks in credits:

  • 0.6% credit reduction: Delaware (maximum of $42 more per employee)
  • 0.9% credit reduction: Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Georgia, Kentucky, Missouri, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island and Wisconsin (maximum of $63 more per employee)
  • 1.2% credit reduction: Indiana (maximum of $84 more per employee)

Certain other states—including Arizona, Florida, Nevada, New Jersey and Vermont—have repaid loans and are entitled to a full credit for 2013.

Related Articles...

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: