In Minnesota, employees are supposed to be paid promptly and receive an accounting of their time worked. Failure to comply may mean you’ll have to pay a penalty.
Recent case: Chris agreed to work as a truck driver and claimed he was told he would receive 25% of the gross income realized from the deliveries he made. He understood this would equal at least $17.50 per hour.
After just 12 days, Chris was terminated. He sued under Minnesota wage-and-hour law, alleging he hadn’t been paid promptly and didn’t get a paystub showing how his earnings were calculated.
The court awarded him the equivalent of 15 days’ wages as a penalty for failing to pay on time. (Schroeder v. Kubes, No. A12-0357, Court of Appeals of Minnesota, 2013)
Final note: Fired employees must be paid their wages within 24 hours of demand.
Like what you've read? ...Republish it and share great business tips!
Attention: Readers, Publishers, Editors, Bloggers, Media, Webmasters and more...
We believe great content should be read and passed around. After all, knowledge IS power. And good business can become great with the right information at their fingertips. If you'd like to share any of the insightful articles on BusinessManagementDaily.com, you may republish or syndicate it without charge.
The only thing we ask is that you keep the article exactly as it was written and formatted. You also need to include an attribution statement and link to the article.
" This information is proudly provided by Business Management Daily.com: http://www.businessmanagementdaily.com/35497/failing-to-pay-workers-on-time-may-cost-you-a-big-penalty "
- Padding your reasons for firing can build case against you
- How to guarantee a lawsuit: Fire good employee right after she asks for FMLA leave
- Detailed investigations help distinguish punishments
- Extremely small businesses may not be bound by FLSA minimum wage, overtime rules
- It doesn't matter who started it! Managers must always behave appropriately