The Indiana Wage Payment and Collection Act seems like it should be rather simple, but it’s perhaps the most complicated employment law in the state. Full of traps for the unwary, the law can spell big trouble for even innocent mistakes.
The law covers all Indiana private employers, even those with only one employee, and requires employers to pay their employees biweekly. (Employers may pay more often if they wish.) The law allows you to pay in cash, check, money order, draft or through electronic transfer.
Employers that fail to pay employees within 10 days of the date due can incur a penalty of $1 per day plus employees’ attorneys’ fees, up to twice the amount of the original amount in dispute.
Upon termination, you must pay an employee all wages due within 10 business days of the last day of work or the next normal biweekly payday, whichever comes first. You may hold payment without penalty if an employee hasn’t prov...(register to read more)
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- Small Business Tax Deduction Strategies
- Courts rule Schwarzenegger's state furloughs were improper
- Nail down home sale tax break but watch out for pitfalls
- Don't consider FMLA leave when tallying employee's 'excessive' absences
- Personnel records: What to store, when to shred ... and 7 laws you must comply with