State examiners looking into wage-and-hour violations at North Carolina businesses opened 7,665 investigations in 2006. That’s an 18% increase over the previous year and a nearly 40% increase from 2003 investigation levels, according to the North Carolina Labor Department’s 2006 annual report.
The investigations are led by the state’s Wage and Hour Bureau, which administers the NC Wage and Hour Act. That law includes the minimum wage, overtime pay and wage payment (promised wages including wage benefits, such as vacation pay, sick leave, holiday pay, and bonuses and commissions).
The average number of days it took to close an investigation nearly doubled, from 32 days in 2005 to 62 days last year. The bureau aims to close investigations within 60 days, but it said high staff turnover has caused more delays.
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- Do we owe STD benefits to employee who has been terminated after FMLA leave expires?
- Remind employees: FMLA doesn't promise reinstatement if leave extends beyond 12 weeks
- Do workers read policy changes? Collect proof the right way
- Sick leave and FMLA: Should you call off your call-in policy?