Keystone State health care employers may be able to avoid costly wage-and-hour class-action lawsuits now that Pennsylvania has enacted legislation that aligns state law with the federal Fair Labor Standards Act ().
The law—H.B. 1820—amends the Pennsylvania Minimum Wage Law to bring it into line with the FLSA, which requires health care employers to pay overtime only if employees work more than eight hours in a day or 80 hours in a 14-day period. Before, state law called for overtime pay anytime an employee worked more than 40 hours in a seven-day period.
In recent years, several Pennsylvania health care employers have found themselves on the losing end of class-action lawsuits after relying on federal law instead of the more restrictive state law. With enactment of H.B. 1820, health care employers may use the “8/80” schedule without fear of violating the law.
Note: Have your attorney periodically review your pay practices to ensure they comply with both state and federal laws.
- FMLA changes are here — and even more are on the way
- When firing follows harassment, watch out! You could be facing a retaliation lawsuit
- Harassment complaint earns retaliation protection if complaint was made in good faith
- Avoiding reference-Related retaliation claims
- 5 ways to keep mandatory overtime from boiling over