• LinkedIn
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+

Wage payment on termination: state laws

by on
in Office Management,Payroll Management

Most states have regulations regarding the timing of when employers have to pay employees when a termination occurs. Often, there is a difference in that timing when it involves an employee who quits versus an employee who is fired by the employer.

In the chart below, the second column details the timing demands for employees who quit, and the third column covers those who are fired.

If a state doesn’t have regulations regarding the timing of final pay, the column is labeled “None.” In that case, employers should pay final wages according to their regular payday policies.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

State 

Employee Who Quits 

Employee Who’s Fired 

Alabama

None

None

Alaska

Next regular payday that’s at least three days after employer received notice of termination

Within three working days for employee who’s fired; next regular payday for employee who’s laid off

Arizona

Next payday

Earlier of next payday or within three working days

Arkansas

None

Within seven days

California

Within three days or at once if worker gave three days’ notice

At once

Colorado

Next payday

At once

Connecticut

Next payday

Next business day for employee who’s fired; next regular payday for employee who’s laid off

Delaware

Next payday

Next payday

District of Columbia

Earlier of next payday or within seven days

Next workday

Florida

None

None

Georgia

None

None

Hawaii

Next payday or at once if worker gave pay period’s notice

At once for employee who’s fired; next regular payday for employee who’s laid off

Idaho

Earliest of next payday, 10 days, or within 48 hours of employee’s written request for final pay

Earlier of next payday, 10 days, or within 48 hours of employee’s written request for final pay

Illinois

At once or next payday

At once or next payday

Indiana

Next payday

Payday in the pay period in which the termination occurs

Iowa

None

Next payday

Kansas

Next payday

Next payday

Kentucky

Later of next payday or 14 day

Later of next payday or 14 days

Louisiana

Earlier of next payday or 15 days

Earlier of next payday or 15 days

Maine

Earlier of next payday or two weeks after demand

Earlier of next payday or two weeks after demand

Maryland

Next payday

Next payday

Massachusetts

Next payday

At once

Michigan

As soon as amount due can be determined

As soon as amount due can be determined

Minnesota

Next payday, or second payday if first payday is less than five calendar days after employee’s last day; employee must be paid in full by the 20th day of termination

On demand

Mississippi

None

None

Missouri

None

At once

Montana

Earlier of next regular payday or 15 days

At once, unless employer policy extends  time of payment to earlier of next regular payday or 15 days from separation

Nebraska

Earlier of next payday or two weeks

Earlier of next payday or two weeks

Nevada

Earlier of next payday or seven days

At once

New Hampshire

Next payday or within three days if worker gave one pay period’s notice

Within three days for employee who’s fired; next payday for employee who’s laid off

New Jersey

Next payday

Next payday

New Mexico

Next payday

Within five days

New York

Next payday

Next payday

North Carolina

Next payday

Next payday

North Dakota

Next payday

Next payday

Ohio

None

None

Oklahoma

Next payday

Next payday

Oregon

Estimate final pay due and pay within five days, if employee didn’t give two days’ notice and also didn’t submit time sheets; remaining final pay due within five days of the employee  submitting time sheets

First business day

Pennsylvania

Next payday

Next payday

Rhode Island

Next payday

Next payday

South Carolina

Within two days or next payday

Within two days or next payday

South Dakota

Next payday

Next payday

Tennessee

Later of next payday or 21 days

Later of next payday or 21 days

Texas

Next payday

Within six days

Utah

Next payday

Within one day

Vermont

Next payday

Within three days

Virginia

Next payday

Next payday

Washington

Next payday

Next payday

West Virginia

Next payday or at once if employee gave one pay period’s notice

Within three days for employee who’s fired; next payday for employee who’s laid off

Wisconsin

Next payday

Next payday

Wyoming

Within five working days

Within five working days for employee who’s fired; next payday for employee who’s laid off


Like what you've read? ...Republish it and share great business tips!

Attention: Readers, Publishers, Editors, Bloggers, Media, Webmasters and more...

We believe great content should be read and passed around. After all, knowledge IS power. And good business can become great with the right information at their fingertips. If you'd like to share any of the insightful articles on BusinessManagementDaily.com, you may republish or syndicate it without charge.

The only thing we ask is that you keep the article exactly as it was written and formatted. You also need to include an attribution statement and link to the article.

" This information is proudly provided by Business Management Daily.com: http://www.businessmanagementdaily.com/31733/wage-payment-on-termination-state-laws "

Leave a Comment