Michigan’s child prohibits employers from hiring minors under age 16 in “an occupation that is hazardous or injurious to the minor’s health or personal well-being.”
You may hire minors 14 years old provided you obtain permission from their school. Minors as young as age 11 can work in certain occupations, such as golf caddy, referee at athletic games of children younger than the minor or bridge caddy at officially sanctioned contract bridge events.
- Six days per week.
- A period longer than a weekly average of eight hours per day or 48 hours in one week.
- 10 hours in one day.
A minor’s school and work hours may not total more than 48 hours per week.
Minors age 16 and older may not work between 10:30 p.m. and 6 a.m. on most days, but they can work until 11:30 p.m. on nonschool nights. Different rules apply for minors employed in agriculture.
The Department of Labor & Economic Growth administers the youth labor law. For more information, go to www.Michigan.gov/cis.
Excerpted from Michigan’s 10 Most Critical Employment Laws, a special bonus report available to subscribers of HR Specialist: Michigan Employment Law.
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- Court tosses suit against state's attorney for hiring interference
- Limit sensitive meetings to 'need-to-know' managers
- What's the word on the kind of work high school students are allowed to perform?
- Any problem firing employee who wants her exempt classification changed?