The Ohio Wage Payment Law seems like it should be rather simple, but it’s perhaps the most complicated employment law in the state. Full of traps for the unwary, the law can spell big trouble for even innocent mistakes.
The law covers all Ohio private employers, even those with only one employee, and requires at least two paydays per calendar month unless you specifically set a more frequent pay period. If a payday falls on a non-business day, you must dispense on the last business day prior to the regularly scheduled payday.
The law prohibits you from forcing employees to purchase items from you or another employer-sponsored entity. You may not deduct the cost of tools or employer-owned items that an employee loses or damages unless you have a specific contract signed by him or her agreeing to make such payments.
The wage payment law also covers payment of final wages upon termination, whether it’s voluntary or involuntary. A final check must include all money due to the worker on the next regularly scheduled payday. You must pay all sales commissions due as of the date of termination within 30 business days. (Pay subsequent commissions that come due within 13 days of their due date.) Commissions are considered paid as of the date you postmarked the check.
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- Curing the Lawsuit Epidemic: Check your glass ceilings for $19 million cracks
- Filing suit to protect trade secrets won't kill your arbitration rights
- EEOC's banner 2010 set record for discrimination claims
- Minimizing the legal risks of workplace romance