California local governments can, and sometimes do, legislate their own rules for employers within their jurisdictions.
For example, San Francisco County requires employers to provide paid sick leave. After 90 days on the job, all employees in the city and the county begin accruing paid sick leave at the rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked. In businesses with fewer than 10 employees, workers may accrue up to 40 hours of paid sick leave. For all other businesses, the ceiling is 72 hours. The leave doesn’t vest, so employers needn’t pay for any accrued but unused sick leave when employees quit.
Employees may take leave for their own illness or that of a child, parent, legal guardian or ward, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, spouse, registered domestic partner or other designated person. (Employees who don’t have a spouse or a domestic partner may designate another person.)
San Francisco’s law has teeth. Employ...(register to read more)
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- California nurses union becomes nation's largest
- Cutting an employee's pay is perfectly legal, but first review his potential for a bias lawsuit
- $7,500 to cop who urged violence against protesters
- It's not whistle-blowing! Challenge minor complaints