The child labor rules in California differ from those of other states, largely because of the motion picture industry. State laws governing child labor start at birth and regulate everything from the length of the workday to the amount of light a child can be exposed to.
Also, since California leads the nation in professional baseball teams, specific regulations govern the hours when batboys can work.
Minors under age 16 may not work more than eight hours during any 24-hour period or more than 40 hours in one week during summer vacation. During the school year, minors under age 16 may work only three hours on school days and no more than 18 hours a week.
With a few exceptions, 16- and 17-year-olds may work as much as eight hours a day or 48 hours a week. Their hours are restricted to after 5 a.m. and before 10 p.m. on school days.
The Division of Labor Standards Enforcement administers the child . For more information, go to www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/DLSE-CL.htm.
Like what you've read? ...Republish it and share great business tips!
Attention: Readers, Publishers, Editors, Bloggers, Media, Webmasters and more...
We believe great content should be read and passed around. After all, knowledge IS power. And good business can become great with the right information at their fingertips. If you'd like to share any of the insightful articles on BusinessManagementDaily.com, you may republish or syndicate it without charge.
The only thing we ask is that you keep the article exactly as it was written and formatted. You also need to include an attribution statement and link to the article.
" This information is proudly provided by Business Management Daily.com: http://www.businessmanagementdaily.com/3042/california-child-labor-law "