As of Jan. 1, 2007, California employers must pay a state minimum wage of $7.50 per hour, which increases to $8 per hour on Jan. 1, 2008. The minimum wage applies to all workers except:
- Outside salespeople.
- Parents, spouse and children of the employer.
- Mentally or physically disabled employees at certain nonprofit corporations.
- Sheepherders. (Their minimum wage is set at $1,200 per month.)
- Most workers not covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act ().
Unlike in many other states, 18-year-old workers are entitled to earn the full state minimum wage. The only exception: You can pay 85 percent of the minimum wage to “learners,” defined by law as those working in their first 160 hours of employment in occupations in which they have no previous experience.
Note: California has no tip credit. That means employers may not count employees’ tips as a credit toward their obli...(register to read more)
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- Can I tell employees they better not vote for a particular political candidate?
- When religious needs conflict with schedule, shift swaps may be reasonable accommodation
- United Airlines to pay $850,000 settlement for disability bias
- Understand how whistle-blower laws affect employers, employees