City and county governments in New York can, and sometimes do, legislate their own rules for employers within their jurisdictions. For example, several municipalities set living-wage laws that stipulate higher pay than the state minimum wage (which is currently $7.15 per hour), including:
Nassau County: Companies entering into service contracts exceeding $25,000 with the county must pay employees $9.50 per hour in 2007. The figure rises to $10.50 in 2008, then $12.50 in 2010.
Albany: Any employer that has a contract of at least $20,000 or collects more than $30,000 per year from the city must pay its employees at least $10.25 per hour.
Syracuse: Contractors and subcontractors with city contracts of $20,000 or more must pay workers with 30 years’ seniority $10.08 per hour and cover at least 64 percent of their health insurance premiums. Or, they can opt not to meet the health insurance obligation and pay $11.91 per hour.
New York City: The city pays prevailing wages to all contractors. But for workers in health care, day care and other targeted jobs with low prevailing wages, the city requires contractors to pay them $10 per hour and provide health coverage, or $11.50 per hour without the insurance.
Westchester County: Contractors that do more than $50,000 of business with the county or receive more than $100,000 in economic assistance from Westchester must pay their workers $11.50 per hour with health benefits, or $13 per hour without coverage.
Oyster Bay: Contractors that provide at least $50,000 of janitorial or security services to the town must pay at least $9 per hour and provide health coverage, or $10.25 per hour without the benefit.
Suffolk County: Employers receiving county assistance in the form of loans, grants or tax abatements valued at $50,000 or more, as well as service contractors doing at least $10,000 of work for Suffolk, must pay $10.02 per hour with health coverage or $11.41 without it. Child care employees must earn $7.75 hourly with health benefits or $9 per hour without coverage.
Rochester: Contractors performing at least $50,000 of work for the city must pay their employees $9.68 per hour with health benefits or $10.81 without coverage.
Buffalo: Contractors doing at least $50,000 of work for the city must pay their employees $9.03 per hour with health benefits or $10.15 without coverage. Buffalo also requires contractors to provide hiring and wage goals prior to contract award and quarterly status reports during the contract.
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- Deadline! Contractors must be certified—or you could pay!
- Older workers most engaged, youngest not so much
- OSHA gives Texas company 1.2 million reasons to record employee injuries, illnesses
- New law: Safe haven when hiring people with criminal histories