If you employ at least one worker for 30 days during the calendar year, you must comply with the New York Disability Benefits Law. Coverage starts four weeks after the 30th day.
You’re required to provide disability benefits to all eligible employees. You may self-insure or purchase coverage from a private insurance carrier. The law allows you to collect a premium from employees, through payroll deduction, of one-half of 1 percent of wages paid, but not more than 60 cents per week.
When an employee goes on disability, you must pay him or her 50 percent of weekly wages averaged over the eight weeks prior to the disability, up to a maximum $170 weekly. Disabled employees can collect benefits for a maximum of 26 weeks during any 52-week period.
Employers may provide greater benefits and collect higher premiums subject to approval by the Disability Chair at the Workers’ Compensation Board, which administers the law. For more information, go to www.wcb.state.ny.us/content/main/DisabilityBenefits/Employer/DisBenefits_mainInclude.jsp.
- Investigative finger points back at accuser? It's OK to fire
- How can HR help? 60% of workers live paycheck to paycheck
- After the Election: How Employers Must Prepare for Political Change
- What are the rules governing employment of minors for summer seasonal work?
- Noncompete pacts in Texas: New ruling brings clarity … and questions