The New Jersey New Jersey provides up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave every 24 months for employees of any company that has 50 or more employees anywhere worldwide. The law covers employees if they’ve worked for their organization for at least one year and clocked at least 1,000 hours during the preceding 12 months.
Whenever an employee qualifies under both the New Jersey New Jersey law. Act and the federal , the leave periods run concurrently. That means an employee who takes 12 weeks of unpaid can’t stack on another 12 weeks’ unpaid leave under the
The main difference between the FMLA and the New Jersey law is in the eligibility rules. The New Jersey law covers employees who work an average of just over 19 hours per week, while the FMLA requires an average of 24 hours per week for eligibility. Also, the New Jersey law covers more employers since the 50-employee threshold can be met by tallying employees working for the company anywhere in the world. The FMLA covers only companies with 50 or more employees within 75 miles of the workplace in question.
The New Jersey Division on Civil Rights (www.state.nj.us/lps/dcr/index.html) enforces the family leave act.
- Make sure not to defame an employee when issuing 'Security bulletin' after termination
- Last-chance agreement can head off discrimination suit
- Broward's wellness program survives ADA court challenge
- Former employee who sued applies for new job? Take extra care about who does the hiring
- 12 ways to slay the health care inflation dragon