Georgia’s minimum wage of $5.15 per hour currently matches the federal minimum wage (which Congress voted to increase to $5.85 per hour effective July 24, 2007). However, the Georgia Minimum Wage Law differs in some key aspects from the federal minimum under the Fair Labor Standards Act ().
If the state minimum wage were higher than the federal, the following employers would be exempt from Georgia’s law:
- Employers with less than $40,000 per year in sales volume
- Employers with five or fewer employees
- Employers who employ only domestic workers
- Farm owners, sharecroppers and land renters
- Employers whose employees’ compensation consists wholly or partially of gratuities
- Employers of high school or college students and newspaper carriers
- Employers of working residents of long-term care facilities who receive free board and lodging and earn compensation on a cash basis at an annual rate of not less than $10,000
Keep in mind that employees are always entitled to the highest minimum wage (state or federal). Even though both rates currently are the same, that’s not always the case.
- Gov't workers with free speech claims can charge retaliation
- When employee requests accommodation, beware overly cautious return-to-work conditions
- Unsure about your accommodations obligations? Find out fast--or risk personal liability
- Beware liability if no-hire decision was based on politics
- PwC starts early to train women for leadership