The Florida Minimum Wage Act follows the federal Fair Labor Standards Act in all respects except the amount of the minimum wage. Specifically, workers who are exempt under the are also exempt under the state law.
As of Jan.1, 2007, the minimum wage in Florida is $6.67 per hour. In 2004, a state constitutional amendment established Florida’s minimum wage. Every year, the agency calculates the following year’s minimum wage based on the rate of inflation for the year ending Sept. 1. The new minimum wage, announced each Sept. 30, takes effect the following Jan. 1.
The Agency for Workforce Innovation administers the state law. For more information, go to www.doh.state.fl.us/Environment /community/fciaa/index.html.
Note: Effective July 24, 2007, the federal minimum wage rises from $5.15 per hour to $5.85 per hour, then to $6.55 per hour in July 2008 and $7.25 per hour in 2009. To review the FLSA’s regulations, go to www.dol.gov/flsa.
Excerpted from Florida’s 9 Most Explosive Employment Laws, a special bonus report available to subscribers of HR Specialist: Florida Employment Law.
Like what you've read? ...Republish it and share great business tips!
Attention: Readers, Publishers, Editors, Bloggers, Media, Webmasters and more...
We believe great content should be read and passed around. After all, knowledge IS power. And good business can become great with the right information at their fingertips. If you'd like to share any of the insightful articles on BusinessManagementDaily.com, you may republish or syndicate it without charge.
The only thing we ask is that you keep the article exactly as it was written and formatted. You also need to include an attribution statement and link to the article.
" This information is proudly provided by Business Management Daily.com: http://www.businessmanagementdaily.com/2759/florida-minimum-wage-act "