Since September 2001, when the Texas Minimum Wage Act was last amended, employers have been required to pay a minimum wage equal to the amount set by the federal government under the Fair Labor Standards Act. The Texas law also calls for an automatic increase whenever the federal rate increases.
On July 24, 2007, the federal minimum wage rises from $5.15 per hour to $5.85 per hour. Then, on July 24, 2008, it increases to $6.55 per hour, and on July 24, 2009, to $7.25 per hour.
The Texas Minimum Wage Act also requires that employers give employees a wage statement with every paycheck or payment. It must show exactly how many hours the employee worked and how much the employee earned by the hour.
To review the minimum wage laws in Texas and other states, visit the U.S. Labor Department’s Web site at www.dol.gov/esa/minwage/america.htm.
Excerpted from Texas' 10 Most Critical Employment Laws, a special bonus report available to subscribers of HR Specialist: Texas Employment Law.
Like what you've read? ...Republish it and share great business tips!
Attention: Readers, Publishers, Editors, Bloggers, Media, Webmasters and more...
We believe great content should be read and passed around. After all, knowledge IS power. And good business can become great with the right information at their fingertips. If you'd like to share any of the insightful articles on BusinessManagementDaily.com, you may republish or syndicate it without charge.
The only thing we ask is that you keep the article exactly as it was written and formatted. You also need to include an attribution statement and link to the article.
" This information is proudly provided by Business Management Daily.com: http://www.businessmanagementdaily.com/2738/texas-minimum-wage-act "