Effective Jan. 1, 2007, the new minimum wage in Florida is $6.67 per hour. This represents a 27-cent increase from the $6.40 per-hour minimum in 2006. The state’s minimum-wage rate is recalculated yearly on Sept. 30, based on the federal Consumer Price Index.
Employers should adjust their and make sure they’ve posted the required minimum-wage notice in their workplace. You can download a free copy of the poster at www.floridajobs.org (click on “Florida minimum wage” in left column).
- How to Fire an Employee the Legal Way: 6 Termination Guidelines
- Sad but true: Sick employee may not get unemployment
- Court OKs PTO for exempt employees' partial-day absences
- Personnel files: Organize your paper trail to minimize legal risks
- The 'Scarlet M': State uses shame, fines to fight misclassification